Posted by: bklunk | February 28, 2007

Another Precinct Heard From

Welcome to a new student blogger

Poverty in The Global South: Poverty in The African Continent

I will be posting here a series of subjects involving the topic that I have chosen writing about, for my international politics class.I first decided to write my first blog about a news that I found in the internet, about some of the numbers of the poverty that lyes on the african continent.Over 500,000 people die at each 6 hours due to a reason that includes poverty in Africa.The rich nations are trying to come up with something so they can help them ,but I don’t know if that will be possible with all the coucern that the biggest countries are actually having with wars and other subjects that they commited their selfes to.I think that for helping africa,they would have to really dedicate them selfs,and not only do it to have a clear concious wich,I think, they could be doing.

powered by performancing firefox

Responses

  1. One of the statistics I’ve heard concerning deaths in Africa, is that 230,000 people died in the Tsunami and that many die each month in Africa from diseases we have cures for. I was shocked by this information, because I think that very few, if any, in the United States, no matter how poor, really worry about dying from a cold or tuberculosis. I’m not so concerned with what motivates the wealthy, developed countries to aid this situation, I just believe that it is our responsibility as those who have the technology and knowledge to help these people to do so. While I do think that it is also necessary to fight the aids problem in Africa, I wonder why we aren’t doing more to help the people we know how to help. I also understand that some antibiotics might not be enough to save everyone, when there’s also the issue of clean water and a lack of food, but I think that getting people the medicine they need to fight these common illnesses is a step in the right direction.

  2. I also agree that the developed countries of the world need to step up and take an active role in improving the living standard through-out Africa. It seems many developed countries are only interested in aiding those countries in which they have an interest of economic relations. But not only do I think the proper nutrition, medicine and healthcare should be provided but I believe that education is critical to the success of Africa. It is our responsibility to make sure there is food on the table so that parents do not have to make the decision of whether they should send their children to school or have them stay home and work so there is food to eat. There is the saying, “Give a man a fish and he eats for a day, teach a man to fish and he will eat for life”. I believe that developed countries must not only give aid to the less developed countries of the world, but also educate them so in time they are able to sustain themselves.

  3. As much as I agree that the current state of Africa is of great concern to the world, I don’t think that all other countries can be forgotten about. I think that a greater focus on the UN Millennium Development goals would be the best approach to heading off poverty. No individual country can do it alone. No international aid policy can make a big enough difference. Countries both developed and those who are struggling need to work together and partner in the process. The UN is an amazing organization and does substantial research on poverty every year. There is an annual report called “The State of the World’s Children” which gives statistics for each country in regards to many issues such as poverty, education, health, and progress towards the MDGs. When looking at these figures, it is obvious that international aid is not enough. As important as it is for developed countries to reach out and give aid to those who are struggling, it is not the answer. Aid and education from a third party will never adequately solve an issue. The community being affected needs to be an integral part of solution in order for long term results to be achieved. I agree that the developed countries should give aid and provide education, but most importantly they need to partner with the developing country to solve the root of the problem.


Leave a Reply

Categories

